This is the "Home" page of the "English - Composition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English - Composition   Tags: composition, english, essays, rhetoric, writing  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.usm.edu/english_composition Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Guide for English - Composition

Here is a guide to help you identify good places to go to find the evidence you need when conducting research for writing assignments.

Reference Resources

Use these encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference tools to find biographical information on particular people, summaries of major events and concepts, and other entries that give you background descriptions on people, places, things and ideas.

Find a Topic

There are databases like Facts on File: Issues and Controversies, Points of View Reference Center, and CQ Researcher with lists of research topics, controversial issues, and current happenings in the U.S. Congress to help get you started. Find summaries of the pros and cons of controversial issues, lists of articles about your topic, bibliographies for more information and other helpful resources in all of these databases.

Find Articles

Once you decide what topic you would like to investigate, there are general and subject databases that contain information about articles written on that subject. Often, the entire article ("full-text") is available for download. Since you may be writing on any number of subjects, the databases listed here are very general. Go to the Databases by Subject link to find databases on a particular subject.

Find Books

While your research paper may not require that you read entire books, you may discover anthologies of essays or particular chapters in these longer works provide information you need. The library catalog is the best place to search for books.

 

New Titles in the Libraries

View the New Titles Lists in the library catalog to find out what's been added to the collection in the past month.

New Titles Lists

Related Guides

FAQ about the Libraries

For more help using library resources and services, try our FAQ.


The University of Southern Mississippi | University Libraries | 118 College Drive #5053 | Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip