Where's the Fiction Section?
University libraries typically do not have Fiction and Non-Fiction sections. Books are classified by subject. We shelve all of the history books together, all of the science books together, and so on. Most fiction will be found in the literature section. Some may be located in a children's literature collection or a special collection like Mississippiana.
P = Languages and Literature
Most of the novels, short stories, plays and poetry in a college library will be located in the literature section. Literature is part of the Library of Congress Classification system under P = LANGUAGES AND LITERATURE. If you are looking for works originally written in English, the call number ranges begin with PR for English (think British) and PS for American literature.
William Shakespeare was from England, so his works are cataloged under PR. F. Scott Fitzgerald was American, therefore his books are under PS. You will need the exact call number to find your book on the shelf.
There are obviously a world of literatures from writers of all different languages under "P." English translations of works in various languages will be shelved with the language of origin. For example, the novel Anna Karenina by the Russian writer Leo Tolstoy is cataloged as Russian literature (PG).
Browse the Library Catalog for Fiction
The best way to browse the catalog (as opposed to looking up a book title or author) for fiction is to try to narrow your search in some way. For instance, what kind of fiction are you looking for? Books about crime? Food? Romance?
Change the search from keyword to SUBJECT.
Try combining your subject with the word FICTION.
Subject: food fiction
Subject: romance fiction
Subject: crime fiction
You may also want to narrow your search by category or GENRE. In the Subject search, put your genre phrase in quotation marks and search:
Subject: "young adult fiction"
Subject: "fantasy fiction"
Subject: "science fiction"
Subject: "historical fiction"
These are only some examples of genres. There are many more!
Young Adult and Children's Fiction
You may notice a lot of books are in the de Grummond Collection at McCain Library. Here at Southern Miss, we have one of the largest collections of children's books in the world. Scholars visit the de Grummond Collection to study the publications of children's books from hundreds of years ago to the present day. Books in the de Grummond Collection may be read on-site in McCain Library, but not checked out to take home.
If you are hoping to find young adult or children's books that you are able to check out and take with you, there are some fiction books in the Curriculum Materials Centers at Cook Library and the Gulf Coast Library. You may narrow your search to these collections as well.
Use the library catalog to find books, journals, and other resources available in any of the University Libraries--Cook Library, Gulf Coast Library, Gunter Library, and McCain Library and Archives.
The catalog offers the ability to limit a search by format, location, publication date, etc.